Skirt

Lattice smocking

This was something I found on the wonderfully helpful internet: lattice smocking.

While immensely time consuming, it looks fantastic. The waistband on my skirt is a little bulky as I didnt iron it. This was mainly to keep its elasticity around the (elastic) waistband.

You can also sew it such that it looks as though the fabric has been braided, which I have seen down the side of a jersey shirt, and on a pregnant episode of Project Runway.

Although I would love to show you how to do this, it is increadibly hard to explain without diagrams. Diagrams will take time, in 14 minutes I am leaving to go to a Fringe show. Sorry. Maybe tomorrow.

Also, I am going to India for a month in 10 days 😀

Cornet Skirt: Skirt from 1890’s with a fitted front and a bias cut back with a small train.

Leave a Reply

