Uncategorized

Back from India!

That’s right, I’m back. I got back 3 days ago and now have a cold. This makes me upset because I just want to be a little socialite now, but I can’t, because I don’t have any dresses that go well with a runny nose.

Even worse is that my card reader is not working tonight, otherwise I would show off the piles of fabric I bought while I was over there, instead you get to see the piles of fabric that I didn’t bring back.

This is an embroidery factory in Bikaner. They mostly make bed cover/tablecloth pieces out of old saris and other clothing, but they also have nice cashmere scarves and a few bits of clothing. Above you can see one wall covered in these bed covers ranging in size, style and stitch type. They have so many more piles just like this in their other rooms.

As you can see, this is an elephant. It has been made from old clothing, they leave nothing to waste. Unfortunately I have no use for such a piece, or the bank account to buy frivolous things. But I requested that if I die on this tour, that my ashes should be taken back here to be scattered.

Lastly some detailed stitching of another bed cover, it was covered in small patches like this one in the same colorings but each floral design was individual. If I ever get the inclination to take up patchwork, you can be sure that it will be more in this style rather than the regular western.

All in all it was a fantastic trip which has filled me with inspiration. I’m looking forward to showing off what I come up with for my lovely new fabrics.

Pima Cotton: Good quality, long stapled cotton

Leave a Reply

