Fabric · Jacket · Pattern · Recycled

Mad Hatter Steampunk Tea Party Jacket

This jacket came about from a combination of events.

Firstly, long before any of the other events, I found a gorgeous green velvet hounds-tooth jacket in a vintage shop. The fabric was very nice, the jacket not quite so much. It was very shapeless (possibly from the 1950’s baby boom era) and in dire disrepair. With big tears under the arms, and a few other places. But this was good for me, as it meant that it cost me a mere $15.

Next I bought an astounding book with drawings and patterns from 1660 – 1860. I simply had to try making one. But this little lady doesn’t get much of a chance to wear such elaborate gowns, so a jacket it was! So with a lot of scaling up, and general alterations, (I do not have an 1856 figure) a pattern was produced!

Above is the jacket (with different sleeves and a turned down collar). It is a wedding outfit from the mid 19th c. The book also comes with a very detailed description of what the dress was made of and how it was constructed. Fascinating.

Lastly, a friend was having a Mad Hatter Steampunk Tea Party 30th birthday. The outfit I made was all made around this jacket.

This is the pattern, as mentioned, I made a few changes, sleeves, collar, and all the left over scarps I had were added to the basque, making for a very full skirt.

As I will be moving to colder climates next year I hope to be making more interesting jackets such as this one, but It does take a lot of work and planning. We will see.

 

Blind hem: (invisible hem) A form of hemming that leaves little to no visible stitches on the right side of the fabric. Can be done either with a blind hemming machine, or by hand. Results will vary depending on fabric type.

 

Additional: It was recently made apparent to me that I didn’t have a big enough photo of this jacket. It is a great jacket and deserves better treatment. So here is me at the party it was originally made for:

One thought on “Mad Hatter Steampunk Tea Party Jacket

Leave a Reply

