Dyeing · Floral · Jacket · Recycled

Colour me impressed

While home over summer I was rummaging through my parents wardrobe (no new purchases get past me) when I came upon this monstrosity:

Sample

The fabric was a nice thick cotton weave, but all that florally pink, ugh! I had to see more!

I pulled it out to find a 3/4 sleeve, nicely shaped business jacket. What in this unlikely Earth was this doing in my Mother’s wardrobe?

Turns out it was for a very short time, my sisters. There is confusion around the origin, with both sides telling different tales. But it boils down to both my Mother and sister being polite when my sister tried it on at a 2nd hand market. Mum said it looked good because she thought my sister liked it (why else would she try it on?), my sister bought it because her Mother said it looked good and trusted her taste.

As with many such purchases, it was never worn. Instead it had taken up residence in the wardrobe in the spare room.

“Well” I thought “there is no point in wasting an otherwise good jacket”

“Why don’t we dye it?” I said to Mum, “and give it back to my sister as a bit of a joke Christmas present?” (You can tell who is being set up as the hero of this story)

So we (I) did. What a roaring success! We went for ‘port wine’, though it came out a lighter and brighter pink, but not in a girly way. It is a strong colour.

I didn’t want to waste the rest of the dye, so I threw a few other pieces in there that could do with some sprucing up.

Here is the before and after:

Dyed jacket

Trust me, it looks much better on a body that it fits, rather than stereotypical Amal here.

And sister likes it! She seemed a little uncertain at first, but later sent me a photo of her wearing it casually with jeans and a t-shirt (I sent her back one of the beach and sun I was enjoying).

Dying is such a great way or rehabilitating clothes, and I noticed you can now get poly dyes now too!I like that this one retained a good amount of texture from the flowers underneath, though they look much less like tiny cutsie flowers now.

 

Euge’nie dress: tight bodice, full 3-tiered skirt and pagoda sleeved dress popular in the 1850s. Named after Euge’nie, Empress of France

Leave a Reply

