Bag · Crochet · Spinning

My first spinning

As you already know I started weaving earlier this year. The combination of seeing other people’s spinning, as well as a shop stocked full of lovely un-spun wool peaked my interest in doing spinning myself. Not having the space or funds to buy a free-standing spindle, I bought a drop spindle, which looks like a poorly proportioned spinning top.

To start I bought some relatively inexpensive natural brown wool. It was easy enough and I quickly got into a good rhythm. Next, because I have poor self-control when it comes to pretty things, I bought some beautiful multicoloured merino/silk in varying shades of purple to blue.

IMG_20140605_151237

As you can see it spins up gorgeously, not just mashing the colours together, but keeping the colours nicely defined. By now I was able to produce finer yarn, which was good because I intended to spin the two together and I only had 100g of the purple to the 250g of brown. My intention was to brighten the brown with the purple.

IMG_20140612_142750

Above is before they were plied together, below is after.

IMG_20140615_100250

As expected I had more brown left un-plied than purple, which I just plied with itself.

The yarn balls have sat unused with my wool stash for a few months. Lately I’ve been on a crafty rampage to organise my room, getting ready to move in a months time. I also recently joined Pinterest, knowing that during holidays was the safest time to do this, when I had time to be taken away by inspiration.

So I made an open crochet shopping bag. It is based on a hexagonal centre, with each row increasing and radiating out.

IMG_20141227_100858

You can see that the yarn I started with was also the first part that I had spun, where the brown thread is much thicker and less regular. I think it works quite well in this case, shading the bag and giving the radial pattern more definition.

I did finish all the yarn once and found that the opening was much too large and structureless, so I undid it back to where my increasing stopped and did the sides again.

IMG_20141228_083355

Then I used the brown yarn to make handles and reinforce the top.

IMG_20141228_083444

I realise wool is not the best medium to use for such a bag, especially if it gets wet which might cause it to swell and smell, but I didn’t want my first spinning to go unused, and there aren’t many projects that I would make that would use such a small amount of such irregular yarn.

I’m imagining using it when I go to markets, being hand-made and bohemian style. I’m interested to see how it goes when its full or carrying a lot of weight.

One thought on “My first spinning

Leave a Reply

