Pattern · Spinning · Weaving

Spun and woven

Now that I’m a weaver, I felt obliged to weave a scarf. Surely its the most staple item for any weaver to make.

IMG_20160107_133031614

I’ve been weaving it on Tuesday evenings for most of 2015. It took me so long to weave for two reasons:

  • It’s been a crazy busy year
  • I spun the maroon thread (weft) myself with a drop spindle

That’s right! I’m very proud of being able to spin such a fine thread, and use it in my own weaving.

IMG_20160107_133113542

The warp was threaded over four shafts, and as you can see I played around a bit with other patterns at the ends, before twisted fringing.

IMG_20160107_133054658

Unfortunately, being that I was weaving on a borrowed loom that had to be returned, it’s not as long as I would have liked.

I think it looks pretty pro, and I don’t think I’ll get many people asking me if I made it myself.

IMG_20160107_132539232

One thought on “Spun and woven

Leave a Reply

