Hand stitching · Uncategorized

Rainbow bowls

In an attempt to combat boredom, I have been going back through my ‘To Do’ board on Pinterest and do a few things I have been wanting to try. This included a knotted bowl on an amazing website here, and luckily I had just received some fabulously coloured yarn in a wonderful birthday present/care package.

If you have ever made friendship bracelets, you can easily make this.

I won’t give you instructions, because they can all be found via the above link (my first link!). Instead I will show you progress photos and tell you about my experience/what I did differently.

IMG_20160419_154607184

My knotting threads appear thinner relative to my coil thread than in the tutorial, which meant that I started with 8 strands rather than 6. This also meant that the increasing method they used didn’t suit mine. I followed the increasing instructions (introducing 8 rather than 6 strands at a time) for a couple rows, but this wasn’t enough to keep the piece flat, so I began to add threads in whenever needed.

This also gave me the freedom to split neighbouring threads of the same colour, giving the chevrons you can see below.

As you can see, I didn’t pin my work as I went. I don’t have a cork board on hand, and figured that I could just wing it. Which worked for the most part, though it’s not perfectly flat (but hey, it gives it some character).

IMG_20160426_222853599

Above is the working side of the bowl and below is the knotted side of the bowl, either can be used as the ‘right’ side. These were taken when I decided it was big enough and to start forming the sides.

IMG_20160426_222922452

I didn’t want the sides of my bowl to be at right angles, so I curved the sides of my bowl instead. I slowed down the rate at which I was adding new threads in, and manipulated the coil thread so it sat where I wanted it.

IMG_20160428_081243908

(Wiggly rainbow worms!)

Below was taken when I only had a few more laps before I ‘cast off’. I used super glue to finish all the ends, because it dries so fast, and soaks into the fibre giving a smoother finish.

IMG_20160429_204449012

It can either go knotted side in:

IMG_20160503_102445362

Or knotted side out:

IMG_20160503_102509864

Or it can have a little cuff:

IMG_20160503_102535826

And it matches another little bowl of mine quite nicely. I made it in a traditional Aboriginal basket making class earlier this year

IMG_20160503_102423900

We used traditional methods, but raffia rather than the traditional grasses, because they are becoming endangered from land clearing and over-use. We also used yarn needles (thankfully) rather than sticks and patience to sew the coils together.

IMG_20160503_102436660

I tend to have a collection of little bowls/mugs/plates on my desk so that it looks organised while still covered in all my random junk. So when I get a desk again, these will be the first two on it.

Leave a Reply

